About the Wandsworth Grant Fund

Customer notice

Due to the COVID-19 virus situation, we are sorry that we are unable to offer face-to-face meetings as previously available. Subject to officers availability, email and phone contact can be made. Please provide full contact details when you send your email.

View our Coronavirus (COVID-19) update for organisations in receipt of grant funding.

blank

Established in April 2015, the Wandsworth Grant Fund (WGF) provides all small grants (£500 to £10,000) for community and voluntary sector organisations in the borough to undertake activities for up to 12 months. 

Recovering from the impact of Covid-19

The Council recognises the profound impact of COVID-19 on people’s lives and the role of community and voluntary organisations can have in supporting our communities.  The WGF is therefore seeking applications through 2020/21 from organisations that will directly help to support our communities through their journey to recovery.

What we support

We aim to support projects under six themes:

  1. Arts and culture
  2. Environment and attractive neighbourhoods
  3. Children and young people
  4. Citizenship and civic engagement
  5. Achieving aspirations and potential
  6. Health and wellbeing
  7. Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

Dates for applications

There are three application deadlines during the year, with awards being announced around three months later. Round 14 awards will be announced quicker. Projects should not begin before awards are announced and can last for up to 12 months.

Round Applications close (midnight of) Grand Sub-committee date Awards announced
14 Monday 15 June 2020 To be confirmed August 2020
15 Monday 10 August 2020 Thursday 5 November 2020 Tuesday 24 November 2020
16 Monday 2 November 2020 Wednesday 10 February 2020 Tuesday 23 February 2021

Projects can only be funded if their start date is after the date awards are announced and be able to proceed within three months of any offer being made. The awards are for a maximum of 12 months.

Guidance notes and application form

The guidance notes provide you with details of the fund, particularly updates of what we will fund and what we will not. The latter part provides advice question by question of the application form.

View the application form

Support for applicants

Council Officers are available to provide advice to applicants with a clear activity in mind after you have read the application pack. You can email any of the Specialist Officers detailed in the guidance notes or contact the Grant Officer with general enquiries. Online or phone appointments can be made with the Officers subject to other commitments.

Supporting you with an application

Before you complete your application form, we encourage all prospective applicants to discuss their application with the Thematic Lead Officers within the Council, who can talk through your ideas and provide extra guidance and support to strengthen your application. Please note that Officers are not able to review any draft applications but can give advice any answer questions you may have.

For a telephone appointment, it is recommended that you email the relevant officer with your query and book a date and time to discuss your project.

For all general enquiries, please contact Bruce Murdoch, Grant Fund Development Officer:

Arts and culture

Anneke Kuipers - Anneke.kuipers@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk 

Environment and attractive neighbourhoods

Michael Singham - michael.singham@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Children aged 0-5 years

Siobhan English   siobhan.english@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Matt Hutt  matt.hutt@wandsworthandrichmond.gov.uk 

Young people 6 to 18* years – or up to 25 years for those with a disability

Marsha Forde - marsha.forde@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Lucy Davies – lucy.davies@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Citizenship and civic engagement

Harriet Steele - harriet.steele@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk 

Raising aspiration and potential

Andrew Harland - andrew.harland@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Sonia Wilson - sonia.wilson@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Health and wellbeing

Tony May - tony.may@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Lea Siba - lea.siba@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

General enquiries

If you have a question regarding applications, email wgf@wandsworth.gov.uk.

Wandsworth Grant Fund resources

Sign up for our newsletters

Keep up to date with the latest news from the Council. Sign up to our newsletters now