About the Wandsworth Grant Fund

Customer notice

We are sorry that we are currently unable to offer face-to-face meetings. Subject to officers' availability, email and phone contact can be made. Please provide full contact details when you send your email.

blank

Established in April 2015, the Wandsworth Grant Fund (WGF) provides all small grants (£500 to £10,000) for community and voluntary sector organisations in the borough to undertake activities for up to 12 months.

Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

We recognise the profound impact of COVID-19 on people’s lives and the role of community and voluntary organisations can have in supporting our communities. The WGF is therefore seeking applications through 2020/21 from organisations that will directly help to support our communities through their journey to recovery.

What we support

We aim to support projects under six themes:

  1. Arts and culture
  2. Environment and attractive neighbourhoods
  3. Children and young people
  4. Citizenship and civic engagement
  5. Achieving aspirations and potential
  6. Health and wellbeing
  7. Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

Dates for applications

There are three application deadlines during the year, with awards being announced around three months later. Projects should not begin before awards are announced and can last for up to 12 months.

Round Applications close (midnight of) Grant Sub-committee date Awards announced
20 Monday 4 April 2022 Thursday 16 June 2022 Commencing Tuesday 21 June 2022
21 Monday 25 July 2022 Wednesday 21 September 2022 Commencing Tuesday 27 September 2022
22 Monday 7 November 2022 Monday 6 February 2023 Commencing Tuesday 14 February 2023

Projects can only be funded if their start date is after the date awards are announced and be able to proceed within three months of any offer being made. The awards are for a maximum of 12 months.

Guidance notes and application form

Before completing the application form, please ensure you read the 2022 guidance notes  and the Eligibility Criteria test 

The second half of the guidance notes provide further advice to help you answer each question, so please do look at these if you are unsure of how to answer any question.

Meet the Funder events

If you are thinking about making an application to the Fund and want to learn more about how it works, or to learn about recent changes, you are invited to join one of the Meet the Funder events to hear from the Grant Officers and to ask questions you may have. These free online events can be booked through Eventbrite and are held on Microsoft Teams.

Wandsworth Grant Fund Round 21 events:

Support for applicants

Council Officers are available to provide advice to applicants with a clear activity in mind after you have read the application pack. You can email any of the Specialist Officers detailed in the guidance notes or contact the Grant Officer with general enquiries. Online or phone appointments can be made with the Officers subject to other commitments.

Supporting you with an application

Before you complete your application form, we encourage all prospective applicants to discuss their application with the Thematic Lead Officers within the Council, who can talk through your ideas and provide extra guidance and support to strengthen your application. Please note that Officers are not able to review any draft applications but can give advice any answer questions you may have.

For a telephone appointment, it is recommended that you email the relevant officer with your query and book a date and time to discuss your project.

For all general enquiries, please contact Bruce Murdoch, Senior Grants Development Officer:

Arts and culture

Sara O'Donnell - arts@wandsworth.gov.uk

Environment and attractive neighbourhoods

Tom Newman - tom.newman@richmondandwandworth.gov.uk

Children aged 0-5 years

Siobhan English - siobhan.english@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Matt Hutt - matt.hutt@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk 

Young people 6 to 18 years – or up to 25 years for those with a disability

Marsha Forde - marsha.forde@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Citizenship and civic engagement

Harriet Steele - harriet.steele@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk 

Raising aspiration and potential

Andrew Harland - andrew.harland@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Roger Mullings - rogermullings@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Health and wellbeing

Tony May - tony.may@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Lea Siba - lea.siba@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

Bruce Murdoch - bruce.murdoch@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

General enquiries

If you have a question regarding applications, email wgf@wandsworth.gov.uk.

Wandsworth Grant Fund resources

Sign up for our newsletters

Keep up to date with the latest news from the Council. Sign up to our newsletters now