Criteria for shared ownership allocation

Applicants for our shared ownership scheme will always be assessed on their immediate need.

Wandsworth Priorities - category of applicants

Priority 1

Wandsworth Council tenants with a recognised medical need or living in overcrowded conditions and having a minimum of 150 points in the transfer queue, decants, essential repair cases, tenants under occupying and homeless persons.

Priority 2

All other Wandsworth Council tenants and tenants of housing associations currently occupying property within the Borough and serving armed forces personnel.

Priority 3

First-time buyers who currently live within the Borough and Wandsworth Shared Owners needing to move to a larger property and keyworker employees including those coming to work in the borough.

Priority 4

Existing Wandsworth Homeowners who need to move, whose household income is less than £60,000 per annum and who cannot afford to buy on the open market. SSA employees and first-time buyers who work in Wandsworth but do not live in the Borough.

Priority 5

Wandsworth Shared Owners without a recognised need to move.

Priority 6

Applicants with a local connection but do not live or work within Borough. Evidence of a local connection will be required.

Bedroom entitlement

For example, a single person or a couple will get a one bed entitlement, whereas a couple with a child will get a two bed entitlement.

It is also possible that couples who are expecting a child may be granted an extra bedroom upon receipt of a valid Mat-B1 form (maternity certificate).

House Purchase Grant 

Wandsworth Council Tenants may be entitled to apply for a House Purchase Grant (HPG) to use towards purchasing a shared ownership property. 

Contact us

If you need further clarification on our eligibility criteria please contact the Home Ownership team.