School admissions appeals

If your child has been refused a place at a Wandsworth maintained school, you have a legal right to appeal against this decision to an Independent Appeal Panel. 

The Wandsworth Appeals Service is responsible for arranging appeal panels for all of Wandsworth's community primary and secondary schools and some of the Borough's academies, voluntary-aided and foundation schools.

How to make an appeal

Before you start, check the appeals timetable to find out key dates in the appeals process.

Before completing the appeal form please read the guidance notes and frequently asked questions and have ready copies of any documents you wish to attach to your form.

You can also read a separate troubleshooting guide to the appeals portal.

Uploading documents

The form will require you to upload several documents to support your application.

Please note that the size of each document must not exceed 1MB. Please check the size of documents (particularly scans) before you attach them.

Failure to do so could result in your application not going through correctly, and the process being delayed.

Make an appeal

What happens next

When you have completed and submitted the form, arrangements will then be made for your appeal to be heard by an appeal panel that is independent of the Council and the school involved.

Schools we manage appeals for

All other maintained schools not listed below are responsible for their own appeals. You should contact these schools directly for further information about their appeals process.

Primary schools

  • Albemarle Primary School
  • Alderbrook Primary School
  • Allfarthing Primary School
  • All Saints CE Primary School
  • Beatrix Potter Primary School
  • Belleville School
  • Belleville Wix Academy
  • Brandlehow Primary School
  • Broadwater Primary School
  • Chesterton Primary School
  • Churchfields Primary School (Beckenham)
  • Earlsfield Primary School
  • Falconbrook Primary School
  • Fircroft Primary School
  • Floreat Wandsworth Primary School
  • Franciscan Primary School
  • Furzedown Primary School
  • Gatton Primary School
  • Granard Primary School
  • Heathmere Primary School
  • Hillbrook Primary School
  • Holy Ghost RC Primary School
  • Honeywell Infant School
  • Honeywell Junior School
  • Hotham Primary School
  • John Burns Primary School
  • Our Lady Queen of Heaven RC Primary School
  • Penwortham Primary School
  • Ravenstone Primary School
  • Riversdale Primary School
  • Ronald Ross Primary School
  • Sacred Heart (Battersea) RC Primary School
  • Sacred Heart (Roehampton) RC Primary School
  • St. Anselm's RC Primary School
  • St. Boniface RC Primary School
  • St. Faith's CE Primary School
  • St Joseph's Catholic Primary and Nursery School
  • St. Mary's (Putney) CE Primary School 
  • St. Mary's (Battersea) RC Primary School 
  • St. Michael's CE Primary School
  • Sellincourt Primary School
  • Shaftesbury Park Primary School
  • Sheringdale Primary School
  • Smallwood Primary School
  • Southmead Primary School
  • Swaffield Primary School
  • The Alton Primary School
  • Tooting Primary School Primary School
  • West Hill Primary School

Secondary schools

  • Ashcroft Technology Academy
  • Burntwood School
  • Chestnut Grove Academy
  • Graveney School
  • St. John Bosco College


There is currently very limited telephone access to the Admissions Appeals Team. For any queries, please email and we will get back to you as soon as possible.