Tooting by-election will be held on June 16

Published: 11 May 2016

The date for the forthcoming Tooting Parliamentary constituency by-election has been set for Thursday, June 16.

The seat has become vacant following the resignation of the sitting MP Sadiq Khan who was elected as Mayor of London last week. The writ confirming his resignation was received earlier today.

People wishing to stand in the by-election must submit their nominations to the returning officer by 4pm Friday, May 20. A full list of candidates will be formally published once this deadline has passed.

Residents living in the constituency, which covers Tooting, Balham, Earlsfield and Wandsworth Common, who are not already on the electoral register must register by midnight on Tuesday, May 31.

The electoral register is compiled annually – every autumn – and people who did not return their registration form at the time or register online may not be registered. People who receive and pay council tax bills are not automatically included on the register. 

People can check if their name appears on the register by emailing or calling 020 8871 6023.

Residents who are registered and would like a postal vote are being advised that they must submit their applications by 5pm Wednesday, June 1. People who are already permanently registered for a postal vote will not need to apply again.

British citizens, along with citizens of qualifying Commonwealth countries, the Republic of Ireland and British Overseas Territories are all eligible to vote in this by-election.  In addition those British citizens who live overseas and are registered as overseas electors will be able to vote.

Polling day for the Tooting seat will be one week before the European Referendum is held. Under current electoral rules the two ballots could not be held on the same day.

Ahead of polling day all registered voters will receive a polling card showing them the location of their polling station. The cards are not actually required to vote. If they are lost or mislaid people can find out where their local polling station is by keying in their full postcode at
On June 16 polling stations in the constituency will be open between 7am and 10pm. The counting of the votes will commence that evening.

For more information about the electoral process and how to register to vote or apply for a postal or proxy vote should visit