How to become a councillor

Other elections held in Wandsworth

Other elections are held in Wandsworth to select people to serve as Members of Parliament, Members of the European Parliament, the Mayor of London, and members of the London Assembly. Each of these elections has specific legislation and regulations that govern them.

Parliament has legislated to introduce fixed-term Westminster Parliaments lasting 5 years. The next General Election will be held on Thursday, 7 May 2015. Wandsworth comprises 3 Parliamentary Constituencies, each returning an MP. The Acting Returning Officer for these elections is Paul Martin.

The European Parliament has a fixed term of 5 years and the next election is due in June 2014. Wandsworth is included with all other London boroughs to form the London Region Constituency for the European Parliament. A Regional Returning Officer is normally appointed to co-ordinate the elections across London, whilst the election in Wandsworth is conducted by Paul Martin as the Local Returning Officer.

The elections for Mayor of London and members of the London Assembly take place every 4 years and the next elections are due on Thursday 5 May 2016. The Greater London Returning Officer co-ordinates these elections across London, whilst the elections in the Constituency comprising Wandsworth and neighbouring Merton are conducted by Paul Martin as the Constituency Returning Officer for the 2 boroughs.

You can get additional information on how to stand as a candidate in these elections and related issues from:

As Paul Martin undertakes a leading role locally in each of these elections, he can also provide further background information on them. He can be contacted as shown above for local elections.